You know when you read something and you want to give up the writing profession?

Hi,

With this blog, I will endeavor to post something that floored me, made me want to slit parts of my body, not for pleasure, and basically wish I never chose to be a writer.  For avid readers, you will be able to judge the quality of writing by the excerpt I post and possibly read that book.  I hope this will be useful.

First entry.  Bleak House.  Charles Dickens.  Chapter 11.  Our Dear Brother.

“While the ceremony is in progress, sensation is created by the entrance of a chubby little man in a large shirt collar, with a moist eye and an inflamed nose…”

Second Entry.  New Yorker Article: Loggerheads.  December 7, 2009. David Sedaris.

On Maui, one November, Hugh and I went swimming and turned to find a gigantic seaturtle coming up between us.  As gentle as a cow she was, and with a cow’s dopey, almost lovesick  expression on her face.

I should also quote Mike Myers “Not worthy.”

2 responses to “You know when you read something and you want to give up the writing profession?

  1. I love your blog, Elisabeth. Interesting and informative! No one can write like you, and that is the joy and the beauty of it. Who is that writer who says we all have something interesting and wonderful to say?

Leave a Reply

